The Drivers Education Department at Springville High School will be offering classes each month during the 2018-2019 school year. We must have 35 students to hold a class, so the dates each month are dependent on when 35 students are registered.
Students must have a current learners permit (before class begins) to take Drivers Education! Keep in mind that practice time on the road with your student will have a definite effect on their success in Drivers Ed.
How Drivers Education works:
The student obtains a learners permit (Drivers License Division) and signs up for a Drivers Education class.
The sign-up and $100 fee is handled at the school finance office.
Classes are 3 weeks long, consisting of 2 weeks of classroom/range instruction, and 1 week of road driving and test with instructor. In order for students to meet state requirements, it is imperative that they do not miss classroom instruction or scheduled driving times!
Once a student begins a class, no refunds will be issued. Please e-mail Dan Money (email@example.com) with any questions.
April Drivers Ed → We are now taking sign-ups. The class runs Apr 9-26th. We begin class at 5:45 am in room H-6.
May Drivers Ed → We are now taking sign-ups. The class will run May 1st-May 20th.
Summer Drivers Education
We will start taking sign-ups for June, July, and August Drivers Education classes on May 1st @ 7:30 am in the school Finance Office. This is first come, first serve. We have many requests for students to miss hours during Drivers Ed. summer classes. If students miss, they cannot pass. They will not meet the state requirements. Please schedule accordingly. Thank you for your understanding on this issue. If you have any questions, please e-mail Daniel.Money@nebo.edu. Classes in the summer are as follows:
--2 Weeks in the Classroom/Range
--1 Week for Road, and Driving Exam with instructor
June Class: June 3rd-14th, 7-10 am in classroom G-1/Driving Range
--Driving Range (during class time, 12 hours) will be scheduled shortly after class begins. We will do our best to have individual road driving and road exam completed by June 21st.
July Class: July 1st-16th (no class July 4-5), 7-10 am, classroom G-1/Driving Range
--Driving Range (during class time, 12 hours) will be scheduled shortly after class begins. We will do our best to have individual road driving and road exam completed by July 26th.
August Class: July 29th-Aug 9th, 7-10 am, classroom G-1/Driving Range
--Driving Range (during class time, 12 hours) will be scheduled shortly after class begins. We will do our best to have individual road driving and road exam completed by August 23rd. Summer classes take a minimum of 3 weeks to complete all phases of Drivers Education.
If you have any questions please e-mail Mr. Money (Daniel.Money@nebo.edu) Spending more practice time on the road with your student will have a definite effect on their success in Drivers Ed.
SHS Drivers Ed. Dept.
*Attention parents & students. Utah State Legislature has added a 40 question written exam each person applying for a Utah state drivers license must pass with 100% accuracy before they can receive a license. Each person can take the test as many times as needed in order to pass. You can go back and review any question missed. This new law went into effect 01/01/2016. The website needed for this state exam is listed below.
Road practice times and road driving test will be scheduled on a individual basis on the third week of your assigned month. Please note that your student must be available the first 3 weeks of your assigned month so we can successfully complete all phases of the Drivers Ed. program. Please note during the 3rd week of the road practice times and drivers testing your student will only need to be available for a 2-4 hour block during their scheduled practice times on their scheduled days to drive.
State law requires that each student pass 30 hours of classroom work, 6 hours of observation and 6 hours of driving in a Drivers Education car. The driving range is part of the observation and driving time.
Driver Education Policies
- Entrance Requirements: Each student must be at least 15 years old to start a Driver Education class and have a learners permit from the DLD. Each student must pay a $100.00 fee and keep your receipt. Each student must take home the first day of class, a parental signature form, and bring it back the next day with the parent’s signature allowing the student to drive in the program.
- Attendance: By STATE REQUIREMENT, the class will run for thirty hours and each student will be required to attend the class for all thirty hours. A student may make up two absences in the very next class. On the third absence, the student will have to repeat the course from the beginning and pay the $100.00 fee again. Two tardies count as one absence and each tardy will require one hour of classroom makeup. We will start on time each day. All makeup attendance must be completed during the first week of the next scheduled class. If you come in late it is your responsibility to make sure the roll is marked accordingly. If a student is absent, they will receive a zero for that day's work. For students who are absent, any assignments that are due must be handed in by the next class period. It is the student’s responsibility to find out what they missed and get it turned in on time. All assignments are due at the beginning of class. After that, they are considered late. Late work will be assessed at a 50% penalty and will only be accepted for one day after the due date. All assignments must be turned in by the last day of class.
Sleeping in class will not be tolerated. Those sleeping will be assessed a tardy. Phones, hats, and electronics are not allowed in class. They will be taken and a parent will have to come to the school and pick them up.
Reading: Each student will be issued a textbook and given a Utah Driver Handbook. Reading and studying these two books will enable the student to learn the concepts, rules, and laws more effectively.
Worksheets and Quizzes: Each student will complete a worksheet on each chapter from the textbook. There will be quizzes given almost every day that cover the previous day’s material. There will be a comprehensive test at the end of the course that covers the Utah Driver Handbook.
Journal: Each student will keep a 3 ring binder during the class. The binder will be handed in on a specified date near the end of the class. A cover sheet is required. Spiral notebooks will not be accepted. The journal will include three basic parts:
- ASSIGNMENTS: This includes quizzes, worksheets, unit reviews, and al other outside classroom assignments.
- NOTES: This section will be a complete set out classroom notes and handouts. They should be complete and written neat enough to read.
- ARTICLES: This section will consist of articles related to driving which can be found in newspapers, magazines, and on the internet. A total of twenty-five articles are required. Fifteen may come from the internet and the other ten must come from newspapers or magazines. Each article must be numbered and accompanied with a one paragraph summary written very neatly so the instructor may read it. A paragraph is 3-5 sentences. Do not use sheet protectors.
Outside Class Assignments: There will be three outside class assignments. An intersection assignment, seat belt assignment, and a car maintenance assignment. Each one of these assignments must be completed and handed in on time. Missing any one of these assignments will constitute an automatic “Fail” for the class.
Grading: The driver education program is a pass/fail program. A student must attain 70% of the total points possible in the class. The student must also show competence on the driving range and driving on the public roads. Six hours of observation in a driver education car is also required.
State Testing: Each student will take his/her state road test with a driving instructor. The student must not miss more than 20 on this driving exam or the student will fail.
Options for Failing: If a student fails the driving exam another test can be given at a cost of $19.00. If a student does not obey traffic laws, or causes an accident the student will fail and must retake the course. After two failures of the driving test a student must again retake the course. Students not meeting the minimum requirements will have one more chance at SHS to pass Driver Education. This requires starting from the beginning including the $100 fee. A student who does not pass the second time must take the class elsewhere such as a professional driving school.
Driving Range: You must meet at your appointed times. Driving range hours are not flexible. Missed driving range hours must be made up at a cost of $19.00 per hour missed.
Road Driving Schedule: After the driving range is completed, a student will sign up for road driving times. Once a student has committed to a driving schedule they are required to meet at their appointed times, on time. If a student must miss they must make arrangements with the instructor at least 12 hours before the appointment so the instructor may make other arrangements with another driver. Instructors will not drive students alone. Students will be paired with one or two other students. If a student misses an appointment without 12 hour notification the student will be assessed a fee of $19.00 for one hour missed or $38.00 dollars for the two hours of time that you wasted for the instructor and your driving partner.
Certificates: Students will be given a certificate when they successfully complete the entire course including the driving portion. Certificates are not required at the DLD. They are only given as a courtesy. All driving and classroom records are now tracked online through the DLD.
The Driver Education course is a very demanding class. There will be many assignments and quizzes every day. You will spend several hours each day working on assignments and or driving. However, success is possible for those who seriously give an honest and dedicated effort.
Driver License Information
Age: A student may start a Driver Education class at SHS no sooner than fifteen years of age and must have a valid state learner permit. A student may not receive a Utah Driver License until they are at least sixteen years of age.
State Requirements: A student must go to the Driver License Division (DLD) and successfully pass a written, eye test, and mental fitness test. A learner permit is valid for one year from date of issue and requires a nonrefundable fee of $15.00. A student must possess a learner permit for at least 6 months and pass a driver education course before they can apply for a driver license.
Learner Permit: Once a learner permit is obtained, a student may immediately begin to drive. The student may only operate a class D motor vehicle, and must have an approved driving instructor occupying the seat beside the student, or the student’s parent or legal guardian, who is at least 21 years of age and a licensed driver, sitting next to the student.
Utah Drivers License Division: Learners Permit
Night Time Driving: A person, with a permit or driver’s license, younger than 17 years of age, whether a resident or nonresident of Utah, may not operate a motor vehicle upon any public roadway in Utah between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am. A driver younger than 17 may drive between these hours under the following exception:
- The driver is accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age who is occupying the seat next to the driver.
- The driver id driving in connection with the driver’s employment, including the trip to and from the driver’s residence and employment.
- The driver drives directly to the driver’s residence from a school-sponsored activity if transportation to the activity is provided by the school and the provided transportation commenced from and returns to the school property where the driver is enrolled.
- The driver is on assignment for a farmer or rancher and the driver is engaged in an agricultural operation.
- The driver is driving in an emergency.
Other Driving Restrictions:
A person may not operate a motor vehicle upon any public roadway with any passenger who is not an immediate family member of the driver until:
- Six months from the date the person’s driver license was issued: or
- The person reaches 18 years of age.
- If accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age.
- The driver is on assignment for a farmer or rancher and the driver is engaged in an agricultural operation.
- In an emergency.
All individuals under the age of 18 years of age applying for the first time must complete 40 hours of driving a motor vehicle, of which at least 10 hours must be night-time hours. The hours of driving in an approved driver education course may be counted as part of this requirement. A parent or guardian must certify to the completion of this requirement when applying for a license.
Obtaining a driver license involves eight simple steps:
- Completion of an approved driver education course.
- Assumption of financial responsibility by a parent or legal guardian.
- Furnish positive identification. SS number- birth certificate
- Furnish evidence of residence address.
- Payment of applicable fees. Learner permit fee $15.00 and $30.00 original license fee.
- Completion of medical questionnaire and vision test.
- Completion of required skills or driving tests.
- A photo taken at the DLD (Driver License Division).
Class Requirements: After obtaining a learner permit, a student may sign up for a driver education course. They must pay the class fee of $100. A student must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction with a driving instructor, and 6 hours of observation in a driver education car. A student must pass the classroom portion with a score of at least 70% and show skill in driving. These are state requirements and there are no exceptions. The driving portions, (range and road driving), may extend beyond the instruction dates.
If you have any further questions, please contact Dan Money by phone at the high school or e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org