Celebration Assembly

photos by Carey S. White, SHS News Adviser
2017 Boys 4A State Basketball Champions
Allissa Huffaker receives coaches award
Bill Child, 1958 Boys Basketball Championship Team
Elliott Jordan, 1958 Boys Basketball Championship Team
Red Devil Wrestlers
Taylee Smith represents Girls Basketball Team
Dylan Carter Video
Swim Team
Sterling Scholars

This afternoon Springville High’s student body honored Winter sports and academic achievements.  Swim team, wrestlers, Sterling Scholars, girls basketball, cheer, drill, and Ms. Huffaker were all honored today. 

Allissa Huffaker was awarded the NFHS Coaches Association 2016 State Coach of the Year for Girls Track and Field. 

Bill Child and Elliott Jordan of the 1958 Championship Basketball team spoke to the student body; what a treat!  The 2017 State Boys Basketball Champions were honored as well as their coach, Justin Snell.  Dylan Carter produced a celebratory boys basketball video that was enjoyed by the audience.

Sterling Scholar Awards:
English – Selendra Lewis – Regional Finalist
Mathematics – Brian Udall – Semi Finalist, Finalist for the Philo T. Farnsworth Service in Education Award
Science – Tessa Larsen – Semi Finalist
Social Science – Zoe Dalley – Regional Finalist
Skilled and Technical Sciences – Steven Bartholomew – Regional Finalist
Family and Consumer Science – Erin Caswell – Regional Finalist
Business & Marketing – Chloe Wilson – Semi Finalist
Computer Technology – Connor Widtfeldt – Semi Finalist
World Languages – Samantha Sorensen – Regional Finalist
Dance – Emme Franks – Regional Finalist
Instrumental Music – Abi Maccabee – Regional Finalist
Vocal Performance – Emily Mason – Semi Finalist
Speech/ Theater Arts/Forensics – Rebecca Hammond – Semi Finalist
Visual Arts – Abigail Holman – Semi Finalist